Letter from Jill Stackhouse


Press Releases

Jan Stackhouse Award and Scholarship

Connecticut 1979

Jan Stackhouse’s overarching goal was to bring economic, political and social justice to the lives of workers and women, helping them organize through both formal and informal means. The Jan Stackhouse Scholarship and Award were created at Baruch College to memorialize Jan’s work by recognizing future leaders who are dedicated to that same goal.

Students who win the Scholarship or the Award display a combination of academic excellence at Baruch, and personal commitment in the struggle to improve the lives of people in their workplaces and communities.


Eligibility and Selection

The Scholarship and the Award are available to students in the following Baruch College graduate programs:

Zicklin Graduate School of Business – Executive Master of Science in Industrial and Labor Relations

Marxe School of Public and International Affairs – Executive Master of Public Affairs

The Scholarship is for a student who will be continuing at Baruch the following year. The Award is for a student who is about to graduate. The amounts of the Scholarship and Award are announced in the spring semester, along with information on how to apply.

Applicants must have completed at least 18 credits within either of these programs, with a 3.25+ cumulative GPA.

In addition, applicants must display leadership and sustained commitment in an organization or setting that champions workers’ rights and/or women’s rights. Past recipients have been active in a wide range of activities, including labor unions and organizing drives, human resources departments, and training and mentoring programs. Applicants submit a statement explaining the relevance and impact of their work, along with letters of recommendation.

Applications are reviewed, and recipients decided, by a committee of family and former colleagues of Jan Stackhouse. More than one recipient may be announced in each category, if warranted by the quality of the applicant pool. The committee also has the option to not provide an award or scholarship in a year when the applicant pool is not appropriate. Winners are announced at the end of the spring semester and a brief award ceremony for recipients in the MSLIR program is usually held around May 1, the anniversary of Jan's death. Winners in the EMPA program are announced around the end of May.

The Jan Stackhouse Fund

The Jan Stackhouse Scholarship and Award are derived from the income of a perpetual grant established by Jan’s family and friends in 2006. It is administered by the Baruch College Fund, a registered 501(c)(3) tax-exempt entity.

Past recipients



Award: Janet Rivera 

Scholarship: Daniel Kearney



Scholarships: Vikki Basilico, Roberta Murphy, Felicia Rickett-Samuels



Award: David Ibghi

Scholarship: Kathrina Suarez



Award: Roberta Murphy

Scholarship: Lendynette Pacheco



Award: Helaine Fox

Scholarship: James Noone



Award: James Noone

Scholarships: Amanda Cintron, Latisha Lane



Awards: Amanda Cintron, Maria Colon, Latisha Lane
Scholarships: Crystal Hill, Alan Mason


Award: Crystal Hill

Scholarship: Elizabeth Beisiegel


Scholarships: Catherine Cleaver, Jared Herst


Award: Catherine Cleaver


Scholarships: Richard Singleton, Dylan Wiley